Posted by: smallonely | October 12, 2008

[movie] Howl’s Moving Castle

Howl’s Moving Castle is Miyazaki’s second latest film,
and is one of my favorite animations.

When switching the TV channels, I saw the film playing in StarMovie.
I was still much moved by the story.

Howl is so handsome >/////////////////<
haha… and I like his hair color, no matter gold or blue.

Although the movie is named of Howl, the primary focus of this movie is
indeed placed on one single person, that is, Sophie.
We saw the movie from her point of view. We knew her feelings, her emotions,
and of course her romance with Howl. We were growing with her.

In the beginning, she totally refused to accept the truth that she became an
old woman. Later, when she interacted with other people, she learned more and
more. She had the courage to say “I love you” first. She could make the
decision in a minute when something happened.

To think more about Howl, I am considering, when a man tell a woman about his shortcomings,
in the same time he also gives his trust to her.

As they share all their feeling, whether good or bad,
it makes them strong.

And…. a good movie is deserved to be seen many times😀


Responses

  1. I’ve read the novel and found the movie somewhat a different story from the novel. But I love the movie version even more. Like Sophie’s appearance in relation to her mindset, there’re some really interesting metaphors which become vivid through Miyazaki’s experienced directing in the movie. It’s inspiring, and, of course, Howl is so nice-looking. :p

  2. When I was a senior high school students, my classmates and I saw Miyazaki’s movies at the lunch time, including Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, Laputa: Castle in the Sky, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service, …, etc. We enjoyed these movies very much. One of my senior high school students, Hung, said his favorite music is the theme of Laputa. Sometimes he played the theme by a harmonica. Miyazaki’s movies really bring me unforgettable time and happy memories.😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

